New Year, Same Determination

Good morning starshine! Though it’s not morning now, it could very well be morning when you read this, I hope this finds you well. It’s still the start of the new year, and not gonna lie, I’m pretty excited. I’m turning 22 in a few weeks, going to Mardi Gras with my mom, one of my best friends is turning 21, while I’m a bridesmaid in the wedding for another close friend. And that’s just what’s been planned so far, gotta say, I’m loving life.

“2014 is going to be my year.” “This is the year I become hot” “I’m going to blog/journal more this year” “I’m going to go to the gym more” “This year I’m going to have a meaningful relationship.” The start of a fresh year, and as with every January, come the barrage of New Years resolutions. To lose weight, to travel, to get a boyfriend, to improve grades, work harder, become more confident and any or every other positive aspiration one can think of.

It’s hard to believe its a new year yet again, especially with so many resolutions which go unfulfilled each so they continue year by year. I’m by no means bashing people wanting to better themselves, if you want to change or improve yourself as you see fit, by all means go for it! However I know as soon as I go to the gym this week it’s going to be full of people, people who will drop off one by one, and be gone entirely by the time February starts. The New Years resolutioners who lose their resolve. And I must admit I’ve been one of them. I’ve been trying to stretch myself into a split for years. In high school I nearly had it down, then lost it.

But it can’t be something that comes with a new year, it comes with dedication and determination to reach a goal you set for yourself. It’s got to be something you’re willing to work on not just something to write on a slip of paper and forget about in a months time. The start of a new year is a great time to create goals, but it’s not the only time, whenever you see something you want to change, a goal you want to reach, or a difference you wish to make, do it! Don’t just wait, have the determination, the desire, the drive to see it through.

Bearing this in mind here are a few goals I’m setting for myself this year:
*Finally manage a split.
*Eat healthier and drink more water.
*Tone up-manage to work out on a more regular basis.
*Set aside time each week without technology to read and sketch more.
*Attempt to write more than twice a year (hopeful optimism)
*Strive to be a better daughter, sister, friend, all around better person.

Hopefully documenting these will help me keep up with them. So Happy New Year, here’s to a great year ahead!

Leave a Reply

